Hilarious relatable stories about dogs

Dog Walkers

Possibly the most dreaded part of a walk for some. Perhaps they do these things on purpose. Today will be all about the dog walker. Their positives, their negatives, and oh my the things they do. Sometimes I wonder what goes on within the minds of this strange species, but I’m probably better off not knowing.

First off, dog walkers are great, they run with a certain rhythm that separates them from the rest. For the most part, they’re the happiest people you’re going to run into outside of Disneyland. But that’s just about where the compliments end.

Those wretched walkers. Those oblivious pop-up-out-of-no-where magicians. Most of you know what I’m talking about. I’m talking about the dumb things that dog walkers do. I don’t understand why some of you start going through a trail, and at the first sight of a person, you turn around when you’ve almost finished. Or those of you that hide, literally hide, far in the bushes and are only noticed once the howling and annoying barks make me jump. If your dog can’t handle being around people or other animals, why bring it through a trail designed for dogs & animals!? Yes I have encountered some people with decent reason such as other animal attacks, but most of the problem lies within the dog walker. I swear, when I go out with my dog, people just set up some system to catch me in areas I have no way of avoiding! Not to sound paranoid or anything… But back to trail walkers;if I’m on  bike, my dogs staring you down, please don’t stand there while I stop to let you go by. I know you think it’s polite, but really, I’m just trying not to fall into the river. Oh, by the way, it really doesn’t help when you carry ‘treats’ around with you. It’s just a disaster waiting to happen!

Then we have the rude, ignorant, & nasty walker. This type of walker doesn’t care what you’re thinking. He just lets the dog out because he has to. I really don’t understand why they let their beasts off the leash if they have absolutely no control over them. It’s not that I don’t love a big patch of yellow grass dead centre of the lawn, and another on the side, on the garden, & don’t forget that little present they left around the corner! If your dog isn’t “friendly” please don’t say he is & make an excuse after he starts lipping off. I don’t know about all of you, but there has to be at least one that can relate to me on this. There’s this neighbor of mine that thinks it’s perfectly fine to do pretty much all of the above & ignore his dog until the poor thing has howled for most of the day. He then thinks it’s a brilliant idea to let him run free around the neighborhood at 3 AM only to bark at my window for hours. That is the worst of all worsts that I have had to deal with. And all the dog wants is to play fetch, which we do occasionally. I just don’t understand these people’s minds!

What’s your worst encounter with the ‘walkers’?

8 responses

  1. I think we’ve all suffered that chronic barker and stealth bomber who leaves landmines in your yard when you’re not looking. Over the years I’ve tried the spectrum of responses, from respectful requests with a smile to angry shouts with a call to Animal Control. The point I’ve missed, I think, is that when dog walkers act like they don’t care, it’s because they don’t care. You can’t make them care.

    Well, Animal Control can. :-/

    But who wants to rat on a dog?

    May 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

    • Great point. I guess it’s something in life that we just have to deal with. I wouldn’t want to punish the dog for something pertaining the owner!

      May 29, 2012 at 3:48 pm

  2. Pingback: Tiny Terrors « Dog Envy

  3. Pingback: Snow Dogs « Dog Envy

  4. Pingback: The Sandy Experience « Dog Envy

  5. Pingback: Double Trouble « Dog Envy

  6. Pingback: Summer Lovin’ « Dog Envy

  7. Pingback: Midnight Madness « Dog Envy

Leave a Reply

